SEC presents new MPs with certificates of election

The State Election Commission presented certificates of election on Tuesday to candidates who won a seat in Parliament at the May 8 parliamentary elections.

The certificates were accepted by authorized representatives of VMRO-DPMNE’s coalition, SDSM’s coalition, Worth It coalition, Levica and the Znam Movement. The DUI-led coalition did not send a representative to accept the certificates of election.

VMRO-DPMNE’s secretary general Gjorgjija Sajkoski after accepting the certificates said he expects the new Parliament to form by May 28, and the new government to be formed by mid-June.

“We expect the Parliament of the Republic of Macedonia to be formed by May 28, and we also expect to have the new government in the Republic of Macedonia by mid-June. I want to voice enormous gratitude to the citizens of Macedonia for the support they gave to VMRO-DPMNE and the great responsibility. I want to state that this is a great responsibility for us, as a parliamentary group, as VMRO-DPMNE, but we will justify it,” Sajkovski said.

Branko Georgievski accepted the certificates for the MPs of the SDSM-led coalition, while Bashkim Asani accepted those of the Worth It coalition.

Georgievski briefly congratulated all participants and all citizens “for the maturity they have demonstrated” and wished the future Parliament success in its work.

Asani thanked the State Election Commission and all citizens who participated in the elections and expressed gratitude to the Albanian voters, for the, he said, “13 seats won so far”.

Jovana Mojsovska, authorized representative of Levica, pledged to oppose the “establishment parties in Parliament” with greater forces in the next term.

The representative of the ZNAM Movement, Daniel Stojchevski, said the Commission had done its job, despite, he said, certain issues with the biometric identification devices.

“This was overcome, and I hope there won’t be such problems again,” Stojchevski said.

According to the preliminary results released by SEC, VMRO-DPMNE’s Your Macedonia coalition won 58 seats in the parliamentary elections, DUI’s European Front coalition won 19 seats, SDSM’s Coalition for European Future won 18, the Worth It coalition won 13, and ZNAM and Levica won 6 seats each.